Old Largs Photos and Postcards

Welcome to the Old Largs Photos and Postcards web site. Largs with its beautiful scenery and views over the Isle of Cumbrae, Arran and Bute has been a popular holiday destination for over 180 years. Largs was originally a small weaving and fishing village which grew beside an early church. However the expansion and popularity of Largs began with the building of the pier in 1834 and then the arrival of the railway in 1885.

With the introduction of commercial postcards in 1894 Largs was the ideal location to take advantage of this new type of media.

This site showcases images of Largs taken from old postcards and photographs. Many of these were taken by local photographers W Couts and Hampston and J & R Simpson who ran successful photography businesses in the town for years..

We also feature many articles and historial guided tours of Largs which highlight Largs interesting historical past. We hope you enjoy our site.

New additions. Updated 20th April 2020

We have just about finished our new guided walk from Bath Street to the Pencil. We have got as far as the Old Marine and Curlinghall Hotel, which is where the Curlinghall flats are today. We are just putting the finishing touches to the last section which will take us out to the pencil. So check back soon for this.